Iggy Azalea, Ariana Grande Create History On Billboard Hot 100 With 3 Songs Each In The Top 10!


Who dat, who dat?

Why it’s Mizz I.G.G.Y and Mizz Ariana Grande – utterly slaying the Billboard Hot 100 this week and rewriting history in the process!

With three songs each firmly placed within the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100, Australian Femcee Iggy Azalea and rising diva Ariana Grande become the first two artists in the history of the Billboard charts to simultaneously boast of three songs in the top 10 each in the same week!

While there have been 10 other artists/bands to have had three or more songs in the top 10 in a single week, no two artists have achieved the feat together in the same week. Azalea and Grande join Ashanti and Adele as the only other female vocalists to hold 3 spots on the top 10, while Usher, the Bee Gees, the Beatles, 50 Cent, Lil Wayne, Chris Brown, Akon and T-Pain are the only other artists to have three or more songs in the top 10 in a single week.

Iggy Azalea’s ‘Fancy‘ featuring Charli XCX slips down to #5 this week, while her feature on Ariana Grande’s ‘Problem‘ reaches # 7. Following the première of its Kill Bill-esque video, Azalea’s ‘Black Widow‘ featuring Rita Ora roars up the top 10 this week to arrive at # 8. ‘Black Widow‘ – the official second single from Azalea’s début album ‘The New Classic‘ – also marks British chanteuse Rita Ora’s first top 10 hit on these shores.

Ariana Grande, apart from holding down the # 7 spot with Azalea, soars up to # 4 with the second single ‘Break Free‘ from her upcoming sophomore album ‘My Everything‘. The single, which features Zedd, likewise gains from its video première – and becomes Grande’s fourth top 10 hit.

Grande also has the # 10 spot on lock, with a little help from fellow divas Jessie J and Nicki Minaj with the feisty ‘Bang Bang‘. With the trio set to perform the song later this week on the MTV VMA’s, and with the video dropping on the same day as their performance, expect the song to make a huge splash on next week’s chart.

It’s all about girl-power this week as 7 of the top 10 songs on the Hot 100 belong to female vocalists. As Magic holds at # 1 spot with ‘Rude‘ for a 6th and quite possibly last week, newcomer Meghan Trainor’s inescapable smash ‘All About That Bass‘ narrowly misses the # 1 spot by rising two spots to # 2 this week. The song sold another 239,000 units this week to remain the US’s highest selling single for a second week.

At the rate at which Bass is rising, the song should easily occupy the penthouse next week, unless the humongous force that is Taylor Swift arrives straight at # 1 with her brand new single ‘Shake It Off‘ – which is poised for a massive launch on the charts next week with predictions of almost 450,000 plus in first week sales along with huge streaming and airplay gains. It’s gonna be a fierce battle next week for the crown between Tay Tay and Meghan!

Check out all the action this week within the top 10 of both the Hot 100 and the Billboard 200 right here!

The Billboard Top 10 Singles this week are :

1. Rude – Magic

2. All About That Bass – Meghan Trainor

3. Stay With Me – Sam Smith

4. Break Free – Ariana Grande feat. Zedd

5. Fancy – Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX

6. Am I Wrong – Nico And Vinz

7. Problem – Ariana Grande feat. Iggy Azalea

8. Black Widow – Iggy Azalea feat. Rita Ora

9. Chandelier – Sia

10. Bang Bang – Jessie J, Ariana Grande, Nicki Minaj

The Billboard Top 10 Albums this week are :

1. Guardians Of The Galaxy (OST) – Various

2. Now 51 – Various

3. Frozen (OST) – Various

4. Get Hurt – Gaslight Anthem

5. TRXYE – Troy Sivan

6. Five Seconds Of Summer – Five Seconds Of Summer

7. In The Lonely Hour – Sam Smith

8. 1000 HP – Godsmack

9. Hypnotic Eye – Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers

10. Crash My Party – Luke Bryan