Ashanti Unveils New Video ‘I Got It’ Feat. Rick Ross, New Album ‘Braveheart’ Dropping March 4th


Remember how R’n’B diva Ashanti slayed a significant part of the noughties by unleashing a relentless onslaught of smashes that would invariably soar up the Hot 100?

It’s been a minute or two since we witnessed the ‘Foolish‘ chanteuse’s Midas touch, and since her arrival utterly destroyed records set by her contemporaries and icons alike including Alicia Keys and Lauryn Hill – one would have expected Ashanti’s longevity to be at par with the previously mentioned megastars.

Too bad she’s been facing her label demons with the release of her often delayed, much anticipated fifth studio album ‘Braveheart‘ since FOREVER (We blogged about ‘Braveheart‘ way back in 2012 with her huge forgettable buzz single ‘The Woman You Love‘ – check out the post right here).

Thankfully, ‘Braveheart‘ has finally received a release date, and the 15-song set is ready to début on March 4th. Check out the final track-list right here :

1. “Intro/Braveheart”
2. “Nowhere”
3. “Runaway”
4. “Count”
5. “Early in the Morning” feat. French Montana
6. “3 Words”
7. “Love Games” feat. Jeremih
8. “Scars”
9. “Never Should Have”
10. “She Can’t”
11. “Don’t Tell Me No”
12. “I Got It” feat. Rick Ross
13. “First Real Love” feat. Beenie Man/Outro

Target Exclusive:
14. “Bonafide Survivor”
15. “RIP”

Ashanti recently premiered the music video for the Rick Ross-assisted lead single off the set, titled ‘I Got It‘, and the slick Eif Rivera-directed clip sees the singer display some sensual moves as she serenades her man at the club. Musically, Ashanti seems to have headed back to her Urban R’n’B/Soul roots – I’m not exactly sure about the song’s viability on radio, but yeah – it sounds good.

I’d expect Ashanti to bring an edge to her sound with the new album. She did it back in the day with her consistently catchy hooks and a subtle blend of Hip Hop and Neo-Soul – resulting in some of the biggest hits of the decade including the game-changing # 1 smash ‘Foolish‘ that topped the Hot 100 for an astounding 10 weeks.

Braveheart‘ follows 2008’s ‘The Declaration‘ which arrived at # 6 on the Billboard 200 – her 4th consecutive top 10 album.

Check out Ashanti’s ‘I Got It‘ featuring Rick Ross right here :