Mary J Blige Collaborating With Beyonce On New Album

This piece of good news just made my day y’all!! I’m a major Mary J Blige fanatic ever since I can remember, and the Queen Of  Hip-Hop/Soul’s extensive catalogue boasts of some of the best collaborations in contemporary music. From Aretha Franklin to Sting, from Elton John to Faith Evans, from Lauryn Hill to George Michael, Mary’s done it all. And I’ve been waiting for her to collaborate with some of the powerhouse vocalists of the last 2 decades, especially Whitney Houston, Jill Scott, Alicia Keys, Morcheeba, Mariah Carey, Monica etc.

Looks like Mary’s just answered an earnest prayer by all lovers and fanatics of R’n’B/Hip-Hop/Soul by just revealing the track list for her highly anticipated new album ‘My Life 2‘, which includes a duet called ‘Loving A Woman‘ with one of the most prolific artists of the past decade and a half, mamma-to-be Beyoncé!! Here’s the entire track list for the new album –

1. Next Level
2. 25/8
3. Feel Inside (Ft. Nas)
4. Midnight Drive (Ft. Brook Lynn)
5. Don’t Mind
6. No Condition
7. Loving A Woman (Ft. Beyoncé)
8. Mr. Wrong
9. Empty Prayers
10. Why (Ft. Rick Ross)
11. Masterpiece
12. Living Proof
13. Describe
14. You Know U Want This

Can’t wait for this one! I love Mary’s ‘The Living Proof‘, that has already been included in the soundtrack for ‘The Help‘. And is it me or does Mary sound better with each passing year? Her vocals were kinda raw and edgy during the early years when she released the ground-breaking ‘What’s The 411‘  (1992), ‘My Life‘ (1994) and ‘Share My World‘ (1997). Ever since she conquered new heights with ‘The Breakthrough‘ (2005), her vocals  have mellowed down and at the same time grown stronger than ever before. And she can still command street credibility with those pipes!

Mary’s ‘My Life 2‘ releases on November 21st, 2011. Probably THE most anticipated album for me this year!